Banyana Banyana visit the Copper Queens for an International Friendly

Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana is in Zambia preparing for the international friendly match they will be playing against Zambia, at the Nkoloma Stadium on Saturday, February 12, 2022.

The match against Zambia comes ahead of the Senior Women’s Team’s face-off against Algeria in a bid to secure their spot in the 2022 Africa Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) taking place in Morocco in July this year.

Nozipho Mbatha, Senior Manager: Group Brand & Sponsorships at Sasol, expressed her excitement about the Banyana Banyana team returning to competitive football after they convincingly won Mozambique, 13 – 0 in an AWCON qualifier home and away round last October.

“This is an important match for Banyana Banyana leading up to the team’s AWCON qualifier against Algeria and sincerely hope, they can maintain their winning ways,” Mbatha concluded.

The team that will be playing Zambia comprises only local players, who spent the past week in camp, preparing for this encounter. Thalea Smidt from Mamelodi Sundowns FC will make her debut in this match. International players are expected to join the squad next when they take on Algeria.

“Being able to play this international friendly game against Zambia is great preparation for the AWCON qualifier against Algeria next week, as they are one of the best teams in Southern Africa so there is no other better team for us to play against ahead of the Algeria game.

“We lost against the Copper Queens in the COSAFA games by penalties, so they are great competition for us as a preparation, they have great experience in playing international football. We are looking forward to the game tomorrow which, will determine the outcome of the starting line-up for next week,” says Desiree Ellis, Banyana Banyana Coach.

Banyana Banyana Squad include:


  • Andile Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
  • Kaylin Swart (JVW FC)
  • Regirl Ngobeni (University of Western Cape)


  • Antonia Maponya (University of Western Cape)
  • Koketso Tlailane (Tshwane University of Technology)
  • Karabo Makhurubetshi (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
  • Janine Van Wyk (JVW FC)
  • Tiisetso Makhubela (Tshwane University of Technology)
  • Bambanani Mbane (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)


  • Gabriela Salgado (JVW FC)
  • Noxolo Cesane (University of Western Cape)
  • Thalea Smidt (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
  • Mamello Makhabane (JVW FC)
  • Robyn Moodaly (JVW FC)
  • Sibulele Holweni (University of Western Cape)
  • Oratile Mokwena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)


  • Hildah Magaia (Moron BK, Sweden)
  • Melinda Kgadiete (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
  • Rhoda Mulaudzi (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)