About Banyana Banyana

Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana are South Africa’s senior national women’s football team and the country’s most successful national football team of recent times. Following South Africa’s readmission to international football in 1992, the woman’s football team was first assembled in 1993 with a match against Swaziland.

In 2009, Sasol went into partnership with the South African Football Association (SAFA), officially launching its sponsorship of the national team and breaking the mould as one of few companies that have energised the women’s game in the country.

The aim of the partnership is to develop and support women’s football by creating opportunities for the team to participate in international tournaments around the globe.

Through Sasol’s backing for Banyana Banyana, the team has shown massive growth and achievements each year. These include the team’s qualification for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, participation in the Olympic Games Women’s Football Tournament in London 2012 and Rio 2016.

The team claimed the COSAFA Championship two years running in 2017 and 2018. In addition, Banyana Banyana were also crowned the 2017 CAF Women’s National Team of the Year at the AITEO CAF Awards, with striker Thembi Kgatlana winning the CAF Women’s Footballer and Goal of the Year accolades and coach Desiree Ellis being named the CAF Women’s Coach of the Year at the 2018 awards.

Over the years, Sasol’s impact on the women’s game has resulted in more and more players being recognised through college scholarships and signed by clubs internationally.

With most of the Banyana Banyana players coming from the Sasol League, the partnership between Sasol and SAFA has made a real difference in the development of women’s football. Graduates that have gone on to spread their wings at bigger clubs and leagues have illuminated the path so that young girls can believe that their dreams can also come true.

Tournament Appearances Best Performance
African Women’s Championship 1995, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018 Runners-Up (1995, 2000, 2008, 2012, 2018)
All Africa Games Women’s Football Tournament 2003, 2007, 2011, 2014 Runners-Up (2003, 2007)
Olympic Games Women’s Football Tournament (Rio de Janeiro) 2012, 2016 Group Stages
COSAFA Women’s Championship 2002, 2006, 2008,2017, 2018 Winners, Runner- Up (2011)
Cyprus Cup 2009, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2018 Group stages, Finished 6th (2018)