University of Fort Hare crowned as the Sasol League National Champions

KwaZulu Natal’s Lindelani Ladies faced the University of Fort Hare from the Eastern Cape in the Sasol League National Championship final at Dr Petrus Molemela stadium, Bloemfontein, on the sixth and final day of the tournament.

The clash between the two teams was tough, as both failed to hit the net, resulting in a 90-minute full-time that couldn’t separate them. This resulted in penalty shootouts from both teams to determine who would remain supreme. The University of Fort Hare were eventually crowned champions and walked away with a prize money of R200 00 and a promotion to the Hollywoodbets League in the next season. Lindelani Ladies didn’t walk away empty-handed as first runner-up, because they also bagged R100 000 prize money and promotion to the Hollywoodbets League.

“We are delighted to have been a part of the Sasol League playoffs, which culminated in a magnificent event where the best in the provinces competed for the championship title. What excited us more was the ability to create the opportunity for footballers, in the development phase of their careers, to live their dreams and aspire to live the impossible. The win from the first-time contenders, the University of Fort Hare is in line with the messages of self-belief that we continue to instil in athletes”, said Sasol’s senior manager: Brand and Sponsorships Nozipho Mbatha.

The weeklong tournament didn’t only focus on developing the players but looked at all-inclusive development, as the match officials were women being developed at the championship. “There are many careers in football, and we want to show young ladies that they can be passionate about the sport without playing it,” concluded Mbatha.

The tournament did not only crown the Sasol League National Champions, but also recognised the hard work the other athletes put in and as a result were crowned as the following:

  • Referee of the tournament: Hloniphila Msizane
  • Assistant referee of the tournament: Amogelang Msiza
  • The most promising young player: Akhona Mkize (Lindelani Ladies)
  • Diski Queen of the tournament: Nomfundo Xuku (Lindelani Ladies)
  • Goalkeeper of the tournament: Thabisa Maleni (University of Fort Hare)
  • Top goal scorer of the tournament: Lerato Ruele (Croesus FC)