Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana are South Africa’s senior national women’s football team and the country’s most successful national football team of recent times. Following South Africa’s readmission to international football in 1992, the woman’s football team was first assembled in 1993 with a match against Swaziland.

In 2009, Sasol went into partnership with the South African Football Association (SAFA), officially launching its sponsorship of the national team and breaking the mould as one of few companies that have energised the women’s game in the country.

The aim of the partnership is to develop and support women’s football by creating opportunities for the team to participate in international tournaments around the globe.

Through Sasol’s backing for Banyana Banyana, the team has shown massive growth and achievements each year. These include the team’s qualification for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, participation in the Olympic Games Women’s Football Tournament in London 2012 and Rio 2016.

The team claimed the COSAFA Championship four years running in 2017 and 2020. In addition, Banyana Banyana were also crowned the 2022 CAF African Women’s Champions, with striker Thembi Kgatlana winning the CAF Women’s Footballer and Goal of the Year accolades in 2018 and coach Desiree Ellis being named as a 3x CAF Women’s Coach of the Year.

Over the years, Sasol’s impact on the women’s game has resulted in more and more players being recognised through college scholarships and signed by clubs internationally.

With most of the Banyana Banyana players coming from the Sasol League, the partnership between Sasol and SAFA has made a real difference in the development of women’s football. Graduates that have gone on to spread their wings at bigger clubs and leagues have illuminated the path so that young girls can believe that their dreams can also come true.

Tournament Appearances Best Performance
FIFA World Cup
2019, 2023
Round of 16 (2023)
African Women's Championship
1995, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018, 2022
Winners (2022)
Olympic Games
2012, 2016
Group Stages
COSAFA Women’s Championship
2002, 2006, 2008,2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
Winners (2002, 2006, 2008, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020)
All Africa Games
2003, 2007, 2011, 2014
Runners Up (2003, 2007)
Cyprus Cup
2009, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2018
Finished 6th (2018)